Make us homepage
Add to Favorites
FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).
Main page » Tag works

Sort by: date | rating | most visited | comments | alphabetically

How It Works - Issue 71, 2015
4
 
 

How It Works - Issue 71, 2015

How It Works, the magazine that explains everything you never knew you wanted to know about the world we live in. Loaded with fully illustrated guides and expert knowledge, and with sections dedicated to science, technology, transportation, space, history and the environment, no subject is too big or small for How It Works to explain.
 
  More..
Tags: Works, transportation, technology, dedicated, space
How Fiction Works
6
 
 

How Fiction WorksHow Fiction Works

In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint?
 
  More..
Tags: realism, detail, Works, Fiction, Novel
Masterpieces of the Imaginative Mind: Literature’s Most Fantastic Works
7
 
 

TTC - Masterpieces of the Imaginative Mind: Literature’s Most Fantastic WorksTTC - Masterpieces of the Imaginative Mind: Literature’s Most Fantastic Works

Course No. 2997 (24 lectures, 30 minutes/lecture)
Taught by Eric S. Rabkin
University of Michigan
Ph.D., University of Iowa
1. The Brothers Grimm & Fairy Tale Psychology
2. Propp, Structure, and Cultural Identity
3. Hoffmann and the Theory of the Fantastic
4. Poe—Genres and Degrees of the Fantastic
5. Lewis Carroll: Puzzles, Language, & Audience
Reuploaded Thanks to floarea
 
  More..
Tags: Fantastic, University, Lewis, Degrees, mdash, Masterpieces, Works, Imaginative
How It Works - Issue 70, 2015
10
 
 

How It Works - Issue 70, 2015How It Works - Issue 70, 2015

How It Works, the magazine that explains everything you never knew you wanted to know about the world we live in. Loaded with fully illustrated guides and expert knowledge, and with sections dedicated to science, technology, transportation, space, history and the environment, no subject is too big or small for How It Works to explain.
 
  More..
Tags: Works, transportation, technology, dedicated, space, Issue, science
How It Works: World of Animals - Issue 17, 2015
12
 
 

How It Works: World of Animals - Issue 17, 2015How It Works: World of Animals - Issue 17, 2015

The World of Animals investigates and describes the anatomy, behavior, and habitats of over 1,000 animals. From microscopic worms and insects to reptiles, birds, and mammals, this book will provide children with an insight into the incredible range of life in Gods wonderful world. This comprehensive but easy-to-use book boasts a wide range of features to help bring its readers face-to-face with the science and beauty of the living world.
 
  More..
Tags: range, World, world, Animals, boasts, Works
Vygotsky Philosophy and Education
8
 
 

Vygotsky Philosophy and Education

Vygotsky Philosophy and Education reassesses the works of Russian psychologist Lev Vygotsky work by arguing that his central ideas about the nature of rationality and knowledge were informed by the philosophic tradition of Spinoza and Hegel. Presents a reassessment of the works of Lev Vygotsky in light of the tradition of Spinoza and Hegel informing his work Reveals Vygotsky’s connection with the work of contemporary philosophers such as Brandom and McDowell.
 
  More..
Tags: Vygotsky, Hegel, works, tradition, Philosophy
Light - Stop Faking It!
6
 
 

Light - Stop Faking It!

By combining clear explanations, clever drawings, and activities that use easy-to-find materials, this book covers what science teachers and parents need to know to teach about light with confidence.There's also an entire chapter on how the eye works. Each chapter ends with a Summary and Applications section that reinforces concepts with everyday examples.
 
  More..
Tags: chapter, Summary, Applications, works, section