Make us homepage
Add to Favorites
FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

Main page » Fiction literature » The Fourth Estate

The Fourth Estate


The Fourth Estate is a 1996 novel by Jeffrey Archer. It chronicles the lives of two media  barons, Richard Armstrong and Keith Townsend, from their starkly contrasting childhoods to their ultimate battle to build the world's biggest media empire. The book is based on two real life media barons - Robert Maxwell and Rupert Murdoch, who fought to control the newspaper market in England (Murdoch bought The Sun and News of the World and later The Times and Maxwell bought the Daily Mirror and its Sunday edition, the Sunday Mirror).

The concept of the fourth estate is in essence the press as a watchdog on other powerful institutions or "estates", the original three estates in England and later the United Kingdom being the Lords Spiritual (of the Church of England), the Lords Temporal, and the commons. The fourth estate is charged with keeping an honest watch on activities of the other states and itself. These duties would help democratic societies function properly, openly, and honestly. Debate still flourishes as to whether or not this ever operated (or operates) as it was intended.

It also shows a battle between two strong characters from differing backgrounds, who are willing to take endless risks.

Purchase The Fourth Estate from
Dear user! You need to be registered and logged in to fully enjoy We recommend registering or logging in.

Tags: media, Fourth, Murdoch, their, bought, Estate