Make us homepage
Add to Favorites
FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

Main page » Audiobooks » Ann Rice : The Vampire Lestat

Ann Rice : The Vampire Lestat


Set in the late 18th Century to the late 1980s, the story follows the 200 years long life of the vampire Lestat, and his rise from humble beginnings as a penniless aristocrat in France to become the "Brat Prince" of the vampires after his creation by the vampire Magnus who orphans him on the night he is made. It details his adventures with his mother Gabrielle, who eventually leaves him due to irreconcilable differences when he searches out the vampire Marius, the existence of whom he learns from the teenage vampire Armand.

From Greece, Lestat travels to New Orleans. After the events detailed in Interview with the Vampire, he "goes into the earth" again in 1929 (This contradicts 'Interview', in which Louis and Lestat meet again in the 1970s. Lestat calls into doubt the accuracy of Louis' account within his own story, claiming that Claudia's death has skewed Louis' version of the past). In 1984, Lestat emerges to become a rock star with a mortal band that consists of Alex, Larry and Tough Cookie. With the eyes of the world on him, Lestat seeks to start a war. Just before the night of the concert, Lestat reunites with Louis, who fills him in on the Vampire Connection.

The book ends on a cliffhanger after Lestat's debut concert in San Francisco, and leads directly into the third volume, The Queen of the Damned.


Not registered yet? We'll like you more if you do!

Purchase Ann Rice : The Vampire Lestat from
Dear user! You need to be registered and logged in to fully enjoy We recommend registering or logging in.

Tags: vampire, Lestat, eventually, leaves, irreconcilable