Make us homepage
Add to Favorites
FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

Main page » Dictionaries and Encyclopedias » George Orwell (Critical Heritage Series)

George Orwell (Critical Heritage Series)


Major English novelist. Key themes: totalitarianism and English working classes. Writings include: The Road to Wigan Pier, Animal Farm, Nineteen Eighty Four. Volume covers the period 1933-1969.
The Collected Critical Heritage II comprises 40 volumes covering 19th and 20th century European and American authors. These volumes will be available as a complete set, mini boxed sets (by theme) or as individual volumes. This second set compliments the first 68 volume set of Critical Heritage published by Routledge in October 1995. The Critical Heritage series gathers together a large body of critical figures in literature.
These carefully selected sources include:
  • contemporary reviews from both popular and literary media. In these students can read about how Lady's Chatterly's Lover shocked contemporary reviewers or what Ibsen's Doll's House meant to the early women's movement.
  • little-published documentary material such as diaries and correspondence - often between authors and their publishers and critics
  • significant pieces of criticism from later periods to demonstrate how an author's reputation changed over time.

Purchase George Orwell (Critical Heritage Series) from
Dear user! You need to be registered and logged in to fully enjoy We recommend registering or logging in.

Tags: Critical, Heritage, volumes, English, second