Make us homepage
Add to Favorites
FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

Main page » Fiction literature » Earth's Children

Earth's Children


The Clan of the Cave Bear was originally released in September 1980. It introduces Ayla, the main character of the series, a Cro-Magnon child orphaned in an earthquake and wounded by a cave lion who is adopted by a group of Neanderthals who call themselves 'the Clan of the Cave Bear'.

The Valley of Horses was originally released in September 1982. Ayla, cast out of the Clan, goes in search of the Others. She settles in a small valley for the winter and lives alone there for three years. At the same time, a Zelandonii man by the name of Jondalar begins a long Journey with his brother.

The Mammoth Hunters was originally released in Fall 1985. Ayla and Jondalar visit a tribe known as the Mamutoi, or Mammoth Hunters, who live near Ayla's valley. The Mamutoi adopt Ayla, and her and Jondalar's love is threatened by Ayla's brief affair with Ranec, a member of the camp.

The Plains of Passage was originally released in November 1990. Ayla and Jondalar travel west, back to Zelandonii territory, encountering dangers from both nature and humans along the way.

The Shelters of Stone was originally released on 30 April 2002, and is the most recent novel of the series. Ayla and Jondalar reach the Ninth Cave of the Zelandonii, Jondalar's home, and prepare to tie the knot and have a child. Unfortunately, nothing is ever simple, especially not with Ayla's background.

Not registered yet? We'll like you more if you do!

Purchase Earth's Children from
Dear user! You need to be registered and logged in to fully enjoy We recommend registering or logging in.
Tags: Children, Earths, based, series, distinct