Make us homepage
Add to Favorites
FAIL (the browser should render some flash content, not this).

Main page » Fiction literature » The Grail Quest Series by Bernard Cornwell

The Grail Quest Series by Bernard Cornwell


A historical fiction novel series dealing with a 14th Century search for the Holy Grail, around the time of the Hundred Years' War. They follow the adventures of Thomas of Hookton as he leaves Dorset after the murder of his father and join

s the English Army under Edward III as an archer. In Harlequin he is involved in battle in Brittany and subsequently at the Battle of Crécy.
It is after this battle that Thomas's family links to the Grail come to the attention of the King and in Vagabond he is sent back to England to discover its whereabouts and becomes involved in the Scottish invasion of 1347. He soon discovers that his cousin, Guy Vexille, is working with powerful figures within the Catholic church in France to discover the Grail for their own ends. The novel ends with fierce fighting at La Roche-Derrien back in Brittany.
Heretic finds Thomas still in France, this time during a time of supposed peace with the French following the fall of Calais. Thomas leads a small band of men into southern France to find the Grail. He becomes the centre of a bitter local war with those also seeking the Grail as well as by the Black Death.


Series of three books:

1. The Archer's Tale
2. Vagabond
3. Heretic

Purchase The Grail Quest Series by Bernard Cornwell from
Dear user! You need to be registered and logged in to fully enjoy We recommend registering or logging in.

Tags: Grail, Harlequin, involved, archer, Edward